(P)eek-A-Boo

“Oh my god, the baby is crying”, I shouted and Rishi took his lips away from my neck. He rubbed my neck where there was a freshly pressed love bite. I smiled at him and went inside the baby’s room. Rishi came inside within a few minutes and hugged me from my back. He smiled at me and kissed me on the back of my neck; 9 months old Maya gazed at him. “Oh the princess is possessive?” he kissed her on the forehead.

As I left her down on her cradle, she started to cry a little. “Offo. What shall we do now? Shall I carry her? You carry her all day long”, he said empathetically. “I know what to do”, I said and I took a vibrant indigo coloured shawl* and closed my face with it, I went near Maya and removed the shawl as I shouted “Peek-a-boo”. “Whoa, what is this game called?” he asked. “Peek-a-boo” I said. Maya was smiling and she was pulling my shawl to indicate that she wanted to play more.

After some time as I was bidding him bye I asked him, “Are you sure?” He didn’t respond but smiled as he left.

*Five days later*

The whole family was gathered in the garden and it was more of a gala time. I was on cloud nine; it’s been a long time since I have met all my cousins, my previous encounter with them weren’t this pleasant and exultant. As Payal finished applying Mehandi* on my hands I heard Maya wail loudly. “Oh no, that’s why I said I don’t want all these” I said sulkily and woke up to wash it off. Rishi gestured me to sit down and he played peek-a-boo with the shawl of his sherwani* with Maya. I smiled at both of them.

The next morning as I dressed up and got ready for the rituals of saat phere*, I asked him, “Are you sure?” He didn’t respond but he got up from the dais and took Maya from the cradle and took the saat phere with both of us. I closed my eyes as I recollected the last peek-a-boo my sister played with me and Maya before boarding the fateful MH370. “Are you sure that you can manage Maya?” she asked. “Yeah, I can manage her even for the whole lifetime, it is just a matter of 7 days” I said. “I would have taken her but this is an official trip for me and your jiju*”. She hugged me and kissed Maya as she left for her flight. Minutes before she boarded the flight, she called on Rishi’s mobile and said, “Take care of my two kids, one is 23 and the other is 8 months but still they both are the same for me.” Rishi kept up his promise so did I and for the first time after their untimely accidental death, I was able to smile again genuinely.

**Note : This post is written for the letter ‘P’ for us by Srilakshmi Indrasenan aka Stri who is a freelance content writer and editor. She writes technical, creative, fiction, motivational, fashion, and relationship based contents. She has 4+ years of experience in content writing and editing and also she is open to jobs like EmCee and Wedding planning. She blogs at http://www.iamstri.wordpress.com/ where she writes on categories like fashion, social issues, short stories, memoir, and humor.

image

14 comments

Leave a Reply

